Barber Instructor – Temporary Permit Documentation Required for Licensure

- □ Application and fee (\$135 = \$60 license application fee + \$75 practical examination fee.) **All application fees are nonrefundable.** To apply:
 - 1. Create an account, apply and pay online at: <u>https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp</u>,
- □ High School Educational Requirements:

The applicant must provide proof of high school graduation or its equivalent.

- □ Barbering Education or Barbering Experience:
 - Official transcript or diploma sent directly to the Board office from a boardapproved barber school verifying completion of 2,100 hours of education, OR
 - 2. Official verification of licensure verifying the applicant has held an active license in another state for at least 12 of the last 24 months directly preceding submission of the application. License verification documentation must be sent directly to the Board office by any state where the applicant has been licensed, registered, or certified. The verification must include issue date, expiration date, and any pending/past disciplinary action.
 - Applicants providing proof of licensure in another state instead of a transcript/ diploma must also provide proof of completion of one hour of education covering lowa law and sanitation regulations.
- □ Iowa License Prerequisite:

Instructor applicants must be licensed as a barber in the state of Iowa for at least two years.

Note: Applicants meeting the requirements for an instructor's license except for the instructor examinations may apply for a temporary permit to be an instructor. The temporary permit, if issued, is valid for a maximum of six months from the date it is issued and is not renewable.